XIII Commonwealth Games

        YEAR    KM       diameter
        1986    67         38.         
     The XIII Commonwealth games were held in Edinburgh, Scotland from July 24 through August 2, 1986.  This was known as "The Boycott Games." Thirty-two nations elected not to attend, boycotting the Games because of "apartheid in sports." The nations who boycotted were Antigua, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Cyprus, Dominica, Gambia, Ghana, Guyana, Grenada, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Malaysia, Mauritius, Montserrat, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts, St Lucia, St. Vincent, Trinidad and Tobago, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

     Twenty six countries sent 1,662 athletes and 461 officials.  These countries were Botswana, Malawi, Lesotho, Swaziland, Australia, Falkland Islands, Canada, Cayman Islands, Cook Islands, England, Fiji, Gibraltar, Guernsey, Hong Kong, Isle of Man, Jersey, Maldives, Malta, New Zealand, Norfolk Islands, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Singapore, Wales, Western Samoa, and Vanuatu.
Return to the Commemoratives page